A Day in the Life of a Cosmopolitan.com Intern

By Elizabeth Steinberg

After being a Web and Features Intern at Marie Claire, I went on to be a Web Editorial Intern for Cosmopolitan.com. I worked with so many great people, including awesome editors and other amazing interns. Most of my time was spent in the unicorner, a magical little meeting room decorated with pictures of unicorns. When I wasn’t helping write articles, I was working on building out posts in Cosmopolitan’s CMS system. I helped build out weekly horoscopes, fashion show galleries, and much more.

In my opinion, there is one thing that can make or break an internship, and that’s your internship supervisor. One of my favorite parts of the internship was getting to work so closely with Danielle Tullo, an Editorial Assistant for Cosmopolitan.com. She originally started at Cosmo as an intern then worked her way up to where she is today. Apparently, we were her first batch of interns, but you wouldn’t have guessed it if she didn’t tell you. She was always super friendly, sweet, and treated us like her work BFFs.

CosmoSign

When we weren’t helping editors with research projects, transcriptions, or building out posts, we were helping Danielle with analytics. I’d say these were two of our most important jobs as interns. When it comes to analytics, we helped Danielle put together an entire report for the sales team. It had everything from which articles had the most shares from the site that week to which Snapchat post was viewed for the longest amount of time. Overall, I learned so much from the internships I’ve had these past two semesters. They’ve helped me grow in my field and I’ve established connections that will last a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

